Unsolicited Advice from A Dream Killer

Beware of Dream Killers disguised as friends, family, partners, parents and The Inner Critic…

“So, what are you doing with your life? Well, if you ask me, I think it’s about time for you to get real. No, seriously. You need to use your brain and think for once, otherwise you’ll waste precious time and end up making a big mistake – again…

Do you remember your last ‘big plan’? Do you? You know I’ll never let you forget! My goodness, that turned into such a disaster! You were so naive! I swear you believed you were somebody else. Just because they managed to do it, doesn’t mean you have a free pass to do the same. It takes good fortune, hard work and natural talent catch a break like that!

I’m so glad you finally woke up and came back down to earth – even if you’re not thinking completely straight just yet. Come on, I know you inside-out. Better than you know yourself even! I mean, honestly, how would you ever survive without me?

Listen, I care about you… That’s why I’m not sugar-coating this. You don’t want another false start like last time, do you? Or else you’ll end up a complete loser, being left behind, forever Keeping up with the Joneses. You can’t afford to go round in circles taking forever to decide like you always have done. Let’s be honest now.

For someone like you, good opportunities are few and far between. Especially with your lack of experience, education and apparent talent. If I were you I’d take what I’m given and run with it! And let’s face it, you’re not getting any younger… No offence.

You need to really reflect and find your unique selling point. For example, look at me. You see, the thing with me is I’m a realist. I know the difference between fantasy and reality. I can tell a good idea from a bad one. I know how to be in the right place at the right time. I make the proper plans, I follow them through to the letter and I get results. I keep my head down and follow the rules. I give everything 110% effort, 100% of the time. So, I’ve done pretty well for myself. That’s because I never make the same mistake twice. Like they say, the proof is in the pudding! I could teach you a thing or two about getting things done – and for free too!

Hello? I’m talking to you. Today, please! This is really important. What are you thinking? What are you planning to do?

Ha! No way! That’s ridiculous! You’ve got to be joking?

Right…

But, people don’t take that stuff seriously. Plus, there’s no money in it! How would you even make a living? It’s just unrealistic.

No, it can’t be done. I’m telling you – you’ll fail. There’s nothing new under the sun! Been there, done that, worn the t-shirt. I’ve heard it all before.

Hey, don’t get me wrong. Sometimes I wish I was a rockstar living in a mansion with a swimming pool, a private jet,  101 Damaltians and a Lambo –  but I’m not. We can’t all live our wildest dreams, dear. This is the real world we’re living in, I’m afraid.

Anyway, back to what I was saying. Didn’t you say you really wanted to be a…? What happened to that? Yes, I know you hated it but it’s steady and it pays well. Why don’t you get back into it? Remember, time is money and you’re running out of time these days.

I mean, if it were me, well, I would totally go back and finish what I started. Quitters never prosper, and all that. But, hey, that’s just me. I would never want to tell you how to live your life. You know I just want the best for you, right?

Okay fine. Do whatever it is you feel you need to do. I guess I’ll just have to leave you to it. You seem to think you know what you’re doing and have it all planned out in your head anyway.

Don’t worry, I’ll be here waiting for you while I get on with my usual business. Success doesn’t make itself, you know. Remember, I’ll always be here when you need me. Good luck with things.

Oh, but just for the record, if it all blows up in your face…

Don’t tell me I never told you so.”

Leave a Reply

